POP Seminar
03.01.2021

【国際シンポジウム】Ten Years after Fukushima: Commemoration and Lessons for the Future


日時:2021年 3月18日(木)9:30 am – 11:30 am JST
Wednesday, March 17 | 5:30pm-7:30pm (PDT)
Wednesday, March 17 | 8:30pm-10:30pm (EDT)
Thursday, March 18 | 9:30am-11:30am (JST)

場所:Zoom Webinarによるオンライン実施
–> Registration Form: Webinar access information will be sent to the registrants before the event.

言語/Language:英語/English
共催/Event jointly organized and sponsored by:
The University of Tokyo, Science, Technology and Innovation Governance (STIG) Program in Graduate School of Public Policy, Institute for Future Initiatives and The University of British Columbia, School of Public Policy and Global Affairs, Center for Japanese Research


[PROGRAM]
Opening Remarks (10 minutes):
– Dr. Santa Ono, President, UBC (recorded video remarks)
– Dr. Sekimura Naoto, Vice President International Affairs, The University of Tokyo

Panel 1 (50 minutes)
The View from Regulators and Leaders: lessons from Fukushima for Japan and the world with respect to nuclear energy and systemic risk management

Moderator: Prof. Shiroyama Hideaki, Tokyo University

• Prof. Suzuki Tatsujiro, Vice Director, Professor, Research Center for Nuclear Weapons Abolition, Nagasaki University (RECNA), and former Vice Chairman of the Japan Atomic Energy Commission (2010-2014)
• Prof. Allison Macfarlane, SPPGA Director, UBC, and former Chairman of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (2012-2014)


Panel 2 (60 minutes)
Academic Panel: Lessons from Fukushima for risk assessment, risk governance, and social resilience

Moderator: Prof. Yves Tiberghien, Dept of Political Science and Co-Director of the Center of Japanese Research, UBC

• Prof. M. V. Ramana, Professor and Simons Chair in Disarmament, Global and Human Security; Director, Liu Institute for Global Issues, School of Public Policy and Global Affairs
• Prof Suzuki Kazuto, Professor, Graduate School of Public Policy, The University of Tokyo
• Prof. Daniel Aldrich, Professor of Political Science, Public Policy and Urban Affairs; Director, Security and Resilience Studies Program (TBC)
• Caitlin Stronell, Citizens’ Nuclear Information Center (TBC)
• Prof. Makiko Matsuo, Project Associate Professor, Graduate School of Public Policy (TBC)

For more information on the event, please visit the UBC Centre for Japanese Research website at https://cjr.iar.ubc.ca/fukushima/.
—————————————————————-
この件に関するお問合せ先:
東京大学公共政策大学院
科学技術イノベーション政策の科学(STIG)プログラム事務局
STIG@pp.u-tokyo.ac.jp